SC CWP CLASS INFO
We offer CWP classes every month. Our class room and shooting qualification will be on sight. The class is $45, and we try to limit them to 10 people for safety reasons and to keep the class quick, yet thorough! We provide you with a portfolio of the class powerpoints, a highlighter/pen, your application packet and your targets.
All you need to bring with you, is your firearm of choice, 50 rounds of ammo, and some form of state identification (i.e. drivers license). If you have not purchased a firearm yet we do offer .22lr rental guns. The cost is $15 and that includes 50rds of ammo.
March 21st – PRIVATE
March 28th – Full
April 4th – Full
April 11th – Full
April 18th – Open Availability
April 25th – Open Availability
To register for a class please stop by the store or give us a call at (864)-310-6535
We also offer private classes if we have at least 6 people sign up. These classes can be during the week Monday-Friday or on the weekend. For Monday-Friday classes please let us know 2 weeks in advance. For a weekend class please let us know 4 weeks in advance. Smaller private classes can also be offered, just at an increased rate.
What all is involved in the CWP Class?
CWP classes typically start at 9AM on Saturdays. We will copy your state-issued ID and then take you over to the classroom. We begin with learning in the classroom. We ask that you leave your firearms and ammo in your vehicles and not bring them into the classroom. During the morning we will go over the rules and laws surrounding the CWP, such as the use of your firearm, fundamentals, safety, how to legally carry your handgun, how to legal store your handgun and much more. Following the classroom instruction you will take a test. Upon completion on the test we typically break for a 30 minute lunch. Upon returning from lunch we begin the shooting qualifications. You must score at least 175 out of a possible 250. You shoot stationary targets at varying distances from 3 yards to 15 yards. You are required to bring a handgun you feel comfortable with. If you do not currently have a handgun we offer rental guns that are .22lr, the cost is $15 and that includes your ammo. Handguns that you bring must be un-altered and may not be fully automatic. You must shoot a minimum of 50 rounds of ammo.
Does my CWP expire or do I need to re-qualify?
CWP Permits expire every 5 years. You must re-send in an application for renewal and a money order to SLED. However, you are NOT required to re-qualify and re-take the course. If your CWP expires you have a 60-day grace period. After the 60 days you must re-take the class and re-qualify.
Can I Carry a Firearm without a CWP permit?
In South Carolina anyone, legally allowed to own a firearm, at least 18 years old can have a firearm in the vehicle without a CWP. The law requires the firearm to be in a closed glove box, console, or stored in a locked container, or in the trunk. You are not allowed to open carry in South Carolina, or carry on the person concealed without a permit.
Can I take my CWP course before I turn 21?
Yes, the CWP course is good for 3 years after the date of the class. So, if you take the class after turning 18 it will be good to send into SLED on your 21st birthday. SLED will not issue anyone under 21 a permit.
*If you need to cancel the class please do so at least 48 hours prior to your class date. If you cancel less than 48 hours before your class date, you will receive only a partial refund. This allows us to still be able to pay our awesome instructors!
SC CWP Reciprocity
The following states reciprocate with SC’s Concealed Weapons Permit:
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Florida, Idaho (Enhanced Only), Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Missouri, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Texas, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming